Feeling Adventourous

Feeling Adventourous

I woke up one day feeling desperate to take random photographs outside of the studio. It used to be my old habit. I used to carry my camera with me wherever I go.

So on this particular day, I didn’t have my camera with me. It was sitting at home, while I was on the bus, desperate to get off and go on an adventure. I bought an Ilford single use camera with a HP5 film ready to use. I got over-excited.

The next day, while attempting to remove the film from the camera, I ended up disassembling the whole camera. That was fun.
I developed the roll of film with Adonal 1:50 at 20 degrees as usual and voilà… you’ve probably guessed it. Most of the images were either underexposed or overexposed because there is no way you can adjust shutter speed or aperture with a single use camera.
Developing the film with Adonal was a pretty bad idea too, because not only you get under/overexposed images, you get large grains on top of it.

I don’t normally post bad photographs on my blog or flickr, but I think I should let you all know what could happen if you try to do the same.
By the way, do not attempt to open the camera to get the film out if you do not have any previous darkroom experience. You will get electrocuted.
I am not joking.

11 thoughts on “Feeling Adventourous

  1. Oh, I certainly know what you mean with p&s throw away cameras. I tried them once and also thought it was a bad idea. That was before I developed myself though. Interesting that you found one with HP5+ in it. Here it’s usually crappy colour film. HP5+ and Rodinal/Adonal is actually my favourite combination, but of course 1:100 stand development. Much less grain and it actually compensates for those minor mistakes. Not severely under- or overexposed but it forgives about a stop or two in both directions. 20°C, 3 or 4ml, 60 or 90 min, depending on whether you expect more overexposed or underexposed, 30sec agitation at the beginning and then one inversion every half hour. I tend to push accidentally, because I don’t use a light meter and tend to shoot at higher apertures for street. I often only notice it when I scan it and there is more grain and contrast than usually 😉

      • Yes, try it out! The description I sent was actually semi-stand. Stand would be 3-5 inversions at the beginning and none afterwards for an hour. I wouldn’t push like that though, because you tend to get bromide drag or halos if you leave it too long. So far I’ve always used semi-stand and was happy enough with the results to just stick with the recipe. The cool thing is that it’s so versatile and you can develop any roll with the same recipe. Here is a description of how to push to 3200 using stand-development. http://www.flickr.com/groups/rodinal/discuss/72157608203774894

  2. I like your honest and informative commentary on the creative process – I will return and thanks for visiting my blog which I confess is all digital. My darkroom days are behind me, at least for the time being 🙂

Leave a Reply

