Paris

Paris

Seven weeks to go. I am excited and terrified. I’ve never travelled alone before – no friends, no distant relatives, no one to speak English to. I will be staying there for 2 months.

When I told one of my friends about my plans for Paris, she quickly mentioned “Eat, pray, love”. I almost died of shame. I’m not a 40 something year old woman having a mid life crisis, travelling to her favourite countries to “find herself”. I’ve already found myself when I was about 14. I was in my bedroom writing my memoir. I know exactly who I am. I always have.

I’m going there because I want to. I want to eat croque monsieur for breakfast. I want to improve my French. I want to eat lots of chocolates and cakes. I want to take lots of photographs and fall in love with Paris all over again.

The pictures above were taken in early 2011. I stayed in Paris only for a few days.

“If you are lucky enough to have lived in Paris as a young man, then wherever you go for the rest of your life it stays with you, for Paris is a moveable feast.” – Ernest Hemingway

 

8 thoughts on “Paris

  1. I’ve only been once, and only for one exceedingly jet-lagged day. So I spent the night doing photography and skipped sleeping. I think your journey is far better planned! Enjoy. And bonne chance!

Leave a Reply

